120!

That’s how many miles I’ve ridden my bike in the last month and a half. It’s been super fun. I really enjoy getting out on a bike much more than I’ve enjoyed running or anything else. I think it’s because I feel like I’m actually getting somewhere if I go out on my bike, where if I run I can’t go nearly as far in the same amount of time.

Thanks to Woot! the other day I was able to pick up a heart rate monitor for about $20, which has been a neat little gadget to have while I’m riding. It’s helping me figure out when I am working hard enough, and when I need to slow down just a bit to try and keep a consistent workout.

If you’re into riding, or thinking about starting (I would definitely recommend it, obviously), you should check out MapMyRide. It’s the site that I’ve been using to track my rides. It gives you a neat little Google Map interface that you can trace your route on, and then allows you to drop those routes into a training log. It will also try and auto calculate calories burned, etc, from what it knows about you and the terrain and such. The reporting structure is pretty nice, and will show you all kinds of things. The ones I’ve used most are the miles over time and calories over time.

~ by jerquiaga on May 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
