Politics

Enough of the pre-election season already. It stretches out way to far in advance. The election won’t be for another 10 months still, and we’ve already been dealing with this silliness for months now. It’s too bad that there isn’t an easier way for the parties to figure out all this nonsense.

Oh well. I think at this point, the most intriguing (from a purely intellectual, thought experiment type of perspective) is Ron Paul. I would almost want to see him in the Oval Office, just to see him try and follow through with his crazy isolationist ideas. I would love to see him walk into the UN building in New York City and say, “Hey, sorry, but you can’t play in my clubhouse anymore.” It would also be interesting to see what would truly happen around the world. Would different nations collapse if we suddenly were to pull all military support from UN operations. Would the other UN member nations step up and provide the amount of manpower and logistical support that we provide. I’d have to say yes, and then no. The real question then would be whether or not it would make the world a better place if we didn’t play that role. That’s a tricky question.

As far as the Republicans are concerned, I think that at this point I would actually support McCain. He seems to be the most moderate of them all. I don’t know what to think about the Democrats. I think it would probably be Obama. I couldn’t vote for Hillary, partly because she’s crazy, and partly because her husband is crazy, and mostly because their dirty politicians. It was very dissapointing when Bill just kept running his mouth about Obama only winning because of race. Hillary’s comments to Obama after the Florida primary pretty much cemented it.

Maybe I’ll just vote for Kucinich with my wife. As she says, “He’s the only loser I vote for.”

~ by jerquiaga on January 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
